Музей округа Гурон и историческая тюрьма
Музей округа Гурон и историческая тюрьмаАрхив общественного достоянияГодерич, НА, Канада

История (от греческого ἱστορία, Historia, что означает «запрос, знания , полученные при исследовании») является изучение прошлого. События, произошедшие до изобретения систем письма, считаются предысторией. «История» - это общий термин, который относится к прошлым событиям, а также к памяти, открытию, сбору, организации, представлению и интерпретации информации об этих событиях. Историки помещают прошлое в контекст, используя исторические источники, такие как письменные документы, устные отчеты, экологические маркеры и материальные объекты, включая искусство и артефакты.

История также включает в себя академическую дисциплину, которая использует повествование для описания, изучения, анализа и анализа последовательности прошлых событий, а также для исследования причинно-следственных закономерностей, связанных с ними. Историки стремятся понять и представить прошлое через повествования. Они часто спорят о том, какое повествование лучше всего объясняет событие, а также о значении различных причин и следствий. Историки также обсуждают природу истории и ее полезность, обсуждая изучение дисциплины как самоцель и как способ обеспечения «перспективы» на проблемы настоящего.

Истории, общие для определенной культуры, но не подтвержденные внешними источниками (например, рассказы о короле Артуре), обычно классифицируются как культурное наследие или легенды. История отличается от мифа тем, что подтверждается доказательствами. Однако древние влияния помогли породить различные интерпретации природы истории, которые развивались на протяжении веков и продолжают меняться сегодня. Современное изучение истории имеет широкий диапазон и включает изучение конкретных регионов и изучение определенных актуальных или тематических элементов исторического исследования. История часто преподается как часть начального и среднего образования, а академическое изучение истории является одним из основных дисциплин в университетских исследованиях.

Геродот, греческий историк V века до нашей эры, часто считается (в западной традиции) «отцом истории» или «отцом лжи». Вместе со своим современником Фукидидом он помог сформировать основы современного изучения истории человечества. Их работы продолжают читать сегодня, и разрыв между ориентированным на культуру Геродотом и ориентированным на военное дело Фукидидом остается предметом споров или подходов в современной исторической литературе. В Восточной Азии государственная летопись «Летопись весны и осени», как известно, составлялась еще в 722 году. До н.э., хотя только 2 век Тексты до нашей эры сохранились.

История Медиа

12 Материалы по теместраница 1 из 1
Собственный Блит

Собственный Блит

Описание: Фотооткрытка. Мужчины идентифицированы как: задний ряд (слева направо) Неизвестные, Тед Мейнс, Джордж Хаггитт, Час Бромбли, Фред Кроуфорд, Расс Вудс, Фрэнк Биггин. В первом ряду (слева направо) Фрэнк ... Еще

Школа Дунганнон, учителя и дети

Школа Дунганнон, учителя и дети

Фотограф: Рубен Р. Саллоус (1855 - 1937). Описание: .Групповой портрет 81 студента и учителя перед каркасным зданием; стул с пустым каркасом в правом нижнем углу; (на лицевой стороне написано: школа Дунганнон, ... Еще

Домкраты, 1917 год.

Домкраты, 1917 год.

Фотограф: Рубен Р. Саллоус (1855 - 1937) .. Описание:. Одиннадцать лесорубов стоят перед кухней или двухэтажным домом с двумя мужчинами на заднем плане слева; все в шляпах; крайний левый мужчина в одежде более ... Еще

Перемещение бревен, 1917 год

Перемещение бревен, 1917 год

Фотограф: Рубен Р. Саллоус (1855 - 1937) .. Описание: .Может быть шестерых мужчин и упряжка лошадей перед салазками из бревен; лошади в правом нижнем квадранте; человек с вожжами сидит на полпути кучи; мужчина ... Еще

Семейный портрет, дата неизвестна

Семейный портрет, дата неизвестна

Фотограф: Рубен Р. Саллоус (1855 - 1937) .. Описание: .Групповой портрет трех женщин и четырех мужчин в полный рост, лицом вперед; мужчина, лежащий впереди на полу, одет в темную куртку, брюки, белую рубашку и ... Еще

Исследуйте Гурон - Годерич, Онтарио | HuronCountyTV

Исследуйте Гурон - Годерич, Онтарио | HuronCountyTV

Дэвид Йейтс объясняет, что привело к поселению в Хенсолле в 1870-х годах и какие отрасли промышленности преуспевают там сегодня. --- «Исследуйте Гурон с Дэвидом Йейтсом» - это серия, в которой любитель местной ... Еще

Годерич: историческая цель гуронов ИСТОРИЯ ЖДЕТ ВАС

Годерич: историческая цель гуронов ИСТОРИЯ ЖДЕТ ВАС

ИСТОРИЯ ЖДЕТ ВАС !!! Историческая тюрьма гуронов - уникальное и внушительное восьмиугольное здание, которое служило тюрьмой графства с момента ее открытия в 1841 году до 1972 года, когда все заключенные были пе... Еще

История GDCI

История GDCI

Краткая история Коллегиального института Годеричского района

Исследуйте Гурон - Годерич, Онтарио | HuronCountyTV

Исследуйте Гурон - Годерич, Онтарио | HuronCountyTV

Дэвид Йейтс объясняет, что привело к поселению в Хенсолле в 1870-х годах и какие отрасли промышленности преуспевают там сегодня. --- «Исследуйте Гурон с Дэвидом Йейтсом» - это серия, в которой любитель местной ... Еще

Радиоуправляемое авиашоу, Годерич, Онтарио, 15-16 августа 2015 г.

Радиоуправляемое авиашоу, Годерич, Онтарио, 15-16 августа 2015 г.

A video montage with different types of radio / line controlled plane models & shots from the Sky Harbour airport and its history. Recorded & edited by @curelet with Canon PowerShot SX 520 HS superzoom point-a... Еще

Сексуальный Годерич: исторические мемориальные доски и деревья

Сексуальный Годерич: исторические мемориальные доски и деревья

My iPhone camera captured some interesting elements of Goderich. This first installment I feature some of the Historical plaques on the upper Port of Goderich. There are many more in the Lower Port of Goderich ... Еще

Перемещение станции СЛР

Перемещение станции СЛР

"Video courtesy of the Port of Goderich." A Time Lapse video of Goderich's Olde Canadian Pacific Rail Station moving 250 meters to it's new location closer to Lake Huron. The 400 ton Station was built in 1907,... Еще

Huron County Museum & Historic Gaol
Huron County Museum & Historic GaolPublic Domain ArchiveGoderich, ON, Canada

History (from Greek ἱστορία, historia, meaning "inquiry; knowledge acquired by investigation") is the study of the past. Events occurring before the invention of writing systems are considered prehistory. "History" is an umbrella term that relates to past events as well as the memory, discovery, collection, organization, presentation, and interpretation of information about these events. Historians place the past in context using historical sources such as written documents, oral accounts, ecological markers, and material objects including art and artifacts.

History also includes the academic discipline which uses narrative to describe, examine, question, and analyze a sequence of past events, and investigate the patterns of cause and effect that are related to them. Historians seek to understand and represent the past through narratives. They often debate which narrative best explains an event, as well as the significance of different causes and effects. Historians also debate the nature of history and its usefulness by discussing the study of the discipline as an end in itself and as a way of providing "perspective" on the problems of the present.

Stories common to a particular culture, but not supported by external sources (such as the tales surrounding King Arthur), are usually classified as cultural heritage or legends. History differs from myth in that it is supported by evidence. However, ancient influences have helped spawn variant interpretations of the nature of history which have evolved over the centuries and continue to change today. The modern study of history is wide-ranging, and includes the study of specific regions and the study of certain topical or thematic elements of historical investigation. History is often taught as part of primary and secondary education, and the academic study of history is a major discipline in university studies.

Herodotus, a 5th-century BC Greek historian is often considered (within the Western tradition) to be the "father of history", or, the "father of lies". Along with his contemporary Thucydides, he helped form the foundations for the modern study of human history. Their works continue to be read today, and the gap between the culture-focused Herodotus and the military-focused Thucydides remains a point of contention or approach in modern historical writing. In East Asia, a state chronicle, the Spring and Autumn Annals, was known to be compiled from as early as 722 BC although only 2nd-century BC texts have survived.

History Media

12 media by topicpage 1 of 1
Blyth's Own

Blyth's Own

Description: Photo postcard..The men are identified as: back row (l-r) Unidentified, Ted Maines, George Haggitt, Chas Brombley, Fred Crawford, Russ Woods, Frank Biggin. Front row (l-r) Frank Scott, Chas Coleman... More

Dungannon School, teachers and kids

Dungannon School, teachers and kids

Photographer: Reuben R. Sallows (1855 - 1937)..Description: .Group portrait of 81 students and teachers in front of frame building; empty frame chair in lower right corner; (written across front: Dungannon Scho... More

Lumber jacks, 1917

Lumber jacks, 1917

Photographer: Reuben R. Sallows (1855 - 1937)..Description: .Eleven lumber jacks standing in front of cookhouse or bunk house with two men in background to the left; all wearing hats; man to the extreme left we... More

Moving logs, 1917

Moving logs, 1917

Photographer: Reuben R. Sallows (1855 - 1937)..Description: .Posed image of six men and a team of horses in front of skid of logs; horses in lower right quadrant; man with reins sits midway down pile; man in fo... More

Family portrait, date unknown

Family portrait, date unknown

Photographer: Reuben R. Sallows (1855 - 1937)..Description: .Group portrait of three women and four men, full-length, facing front; man laying in front on floor wears dark jacket, pants, white shirt and collar,... More

Explore Huron - Goderich, Ontario | HuronCountyTV

Explore Huron - Goderich, Ontario | HuronCountyTV

David Yates explains what drove settlement in Hensall in the 1870s and what industries succeed there today. --- 'Explore Huron with David Yates' is a series in which local history buff, David Yates, describes... More

GODERICH: Huron Historical Goal HISTORY AWAITS YOU

GODERICH: Huron Historical Goal HISTORY AWAITS YOU

HISTORY AWAITS YOU !!! The Huron Historic Gaol is a unique and imposing octagonal building which served as the County Jail from its opening in 1841 until 1972 when all inmates were transferred to regional fac... More

GDCI History

GDCI History

A Brief History of Goderich District Collegiate Institute

Explore Huron - Goderich, Ontario | HuronCountyTV

Explore Huron - Goderich, Ontario | HuronCountyTV

David Yates explains what drove settlement in Hensall in the 1870s and what industries succeed there today. --- 'Explore Huron with David Yates' is a series in which local history buff, David Yates, describes... More

Radio Controlled Air Show, Goderich, Ontario, August 15-16 2015

Radio Controlled Air Show, Goderich, Ontario, August 15-16 2015

A video montage with different types of radio / line controlled plane models & shots from the Sky Harbour airport and its history. Recorded & edited by @curelet with Canon PowerShot SX 520 HS superzoom point-a... More

Sexy Goderich: Historic Plaques and Trees

Sexy Goderich: Historic Plaques and Trees

My iPhone camera captured some interesting elements of Goderich. This first installment I feature some of the Historical plaques on the upper Port of Goderich. There are many more in the Lower Port of Goderich ... More

CPR Station Move

CPR Station Move

"Video courtesy of the Port of Goderich." A Time Lapse video of Goderich's Olde Canadian Pacific Rail Station moving 250 meters to it's new location closer to Lake Huron. The 400 ton Station was built in 1907,... More